Pencil Icon

image

After a two year hiatus, Book Club returns to The Whistler on April 30th. As in the past, our bartenders will pull a cocktail book off the shelf and serve up their favorite drinks from within it. For the April installment of Book Club we’re making drinks from the delightfully entertaining Left Coast Libations, by Ted Munat. We’ve had the pleasure of enjoying a number of these drinks at their bars of origin — such as an Armistice by Erik Hakkinen at Zig Zag Café in Seattle and a Chartreuse Swizzle by Marco Dionysos at Smuggler’s Cove in San Francisco — so we’re excited to bring these and other cocktails from Left Coast Libations to our friends in Chicago.
 
For the evening’s entertainment, James Davis will lead a quartet performing “west coast jazz” in the vein of Chet Baker and Gerry Mulligan’s famous quartet from the early 1950’s. They’ll play sets at 9:30pm and 11:00pm.

image

Then on May 28th, with Negroni Week just around the corner (June 2-8), Book Club presents our favorite cocktails from The Negroni, a gaz regan Notion.

The Negroni: a gaz regan Notion, is filled with essays about the Negroni written by Barnaby Conrad III, Rosie Schaap, and others, quotations, Negroni variations, and comments about the drink from the world’s top bartenders and personalities such as Dushan Zaric, David Wondrich, Salvatore Calabrese, Dale DeGroff, Jim Meehan, Alex Kratena, and yes, Orson Wells. Read about Count Negroni, the bronco-buster who first created the drink in the early years of the 20th century, and discover the pretender to his throne, too. “A classic drink can be counted on to start fights and stir controversy, says regan, “and the Negroni certainly fits that bill. There’s even a Negroni cheesecake recipe in the book. What more could a Negroni lover ask for?”

For the Negroni event, The Whistler — in partnership with the Italian Cultural Institute of Chicago and DePaul University — will present live music by Italian guitarist Luca Nostro.

Book Club began at The Whistler in 2010. Past events have featured classic cocktails from Jigger, Beaker & Glass by the early 20th century bon vivant Charles H. Baker, Jr., Tiki titles such as Trader Vic’s Bartender’s Guide by Victor Bergeron and Intoxica! and Grog Log by Jeff “Beachbum” Berry, the modern and experimental recipe guide Rogue Cocktails by Maks Pazuniak and Kirk Estopinal, and cocktail historian David Wondrich’s Punch: The Delights (and Dangers) of the Flowing Bowl, among other books.

Sunday, April 13 @ The Whistler: Noah Harris, Hayward Williams

Noah Harris plays psyched-out American rock’n’roll and revving up to record and release his first proper solo record. He’s been working with a wonderful group of musicians — Matt Ulery, Jeremy Cunningham, Dan Pierson — on the pre-production for his new record. Come visit Noah as he take this music to the streets.
 
Hayward Williams grew up with a guitar in his hands, performing from an early age in cafés, bars, and eventually rock clubs throughout his home state of Wisconsin and around the Midwest. A high school ‘Battle of the Bands’ champion, the textbook lonely college kid making dinner dates with his guitar, Williams took the well-worn suburban route to musical accomplishment: he hit the ground running with a ‘64 Gibson that his mother bought at a garage sale, listened hard to everything from the Beatles to Buckley, and somewhere along the way began to write the tunes that would become his own voice.

Here’s a neat essay on the history of Bénédictine — along with a tip of the cap to our FREE RIDER cocktail — via BarNotes:

A certain well-known ingredient appears in just about any well-stocked bar: Bénédictine D.O.M. This distinctive herbal liqueur is about 40% abv and has a complex flavor that contains notes of lavender, honey, and other botanicals, all of which linger and fade into one another the longer it…

Marquis Hill continues his month-long, Tuesday night residency at The Whistler’s Relax Attack Jazz Series on April 8th. He’s playing with a different lineup each week, so the band for tomorrow’s show will be:

Marquis Hill —trumpet
Dustin Laurenzi —tenor sax
Stu Mindeman — keyboard
Junius Paul — bass
Makaya McCraven — drums/beats

Sunday, April 6th at The Whistler: The Bloodline presents MAMA + The Thons

The Bloodline Sessions are live performances recorded and mixed live in Logan Square using a variety of media, from analog tape to HD video. All audio is recorded and mixed by former Whistler bartender Alex Pilkington, often on his Tascam 388, and sometimes on his computer when analog technology is acting up. The recordings can be super HD or super lo-fi, depending on the day. All live, no bullshit. The April 6th concert with MAMA and The Thons will help raise funds to maintain Bloodline’s A/V gear.

You can check out the Flesh Panthers recent Bloodline Session above.

Aw shucks. You-know-who included one of our cocktails in his latest book, gaz regan’s 101 Best New Cocktails, Volume III. We’re incredibly flattered. Thanks gaz!

gaz sez:  Oh boy, Oh boy, Oh boy!  The combination of Fernet, Bénédictine, and pineapple juice, all lying on a bed of Lemon Hart 151 with pineapple juice sweetening the deal and Angostura jumping in there to make you sit up and take notice is a treat you’ll never forget.  Billy has sold me on Tiki.  Something I never thought would happen.

The above photos were taken by our friend Geoffrey Wilson, who also has a drink in the book. If you ever find yourself sitting at a bar with Geoffrey behind the stick, you’re in for a real treat.
ZoomInfo
Aw shucks. You-know-who included one of our cocktails in his latest book, gaz regan’s 101 Best New Cocktails, Volume III. We’re incredibly flattered. Thanks gaz!

gaz sez:  Oh boy, Oh boy, Oh boy!  The combination of Fernet, Bénédictine, and pineapple juice, all lying on a bed of Lemon Hart 151 with pineapple juice sweetening the deal and Angostura jumping in there to make you sit up and take notice is a treat you’ll never forget.  Billy has sold me on Tiki.  Something I never thought would happen.

The above photos were taken by our friend Geoffrey Wilson, who also has a drink in the book. If you ever find yourself sitting at a bar with Geoffrey behind the stick, you’re in for a real treat.
ZoomInfo

Aw shucks. You-know-who included one of our cocktails in his latest book, gaz regan’s 101 Best New Cocktails, Volume III. We’re incredibly flattered. Thanks gaz!

gaz sez:  Oh boy, Oh boy, Oh boy!  The combination of Fernet, Bénédictine, and pineapple juice, all lying on a bed of Lemon Hart 151 with pineapple juice sweetening the deal and Angostura jumping in there to make you sit up and take notice is a treat you’ll never forget.  Billy has sold me on Tiki.  Something I never thought would happen.

The above photos were taken by our friend Geoffrey Wilson, who also has a drink in the book. If you ever find yourself sitting at a bar with Geoffrey behind the stick, you’re in for a real treat.

Marquis Hill performs every Tuesday in April at The Whistler’s Relax Attack Jazz Series. The lineup will feature Marquis Hill (trumpet), Dustin Laurenzi (tenor sax), Christopher McBride (alto sax on April 15th), Stu Mindeman (keyboard), Joshua Ramos (bass), Junius Paul (bass on April 8th), and Makaya McCraven (drums/beats). All showtimes at 9:30pm. Free admission.

Pencil Icon

image

On April 28th & 29th at The Whistler, the Relax Attack Jazz Series and The Bridge present a transatlantic exchange program featuring musicians from Chicago and France. Both concerts start at 9:30pm. Free admission.

April 28th: Julien Desprez (guitar), Mathieu Sourisseau (acoustic bass) + Mankwe Ndosi (vocals), Keefe Jackson (tenor sax, bass clarinet), Jason Adasiewicz (vibes), Dan Bitney (keys, electronics), Avreeayl Ra (drums, percussion)

April 29th: Julien Desprez (guitar), Mathieu Sourisseau (acoustic bass) + Mankwe Ndosi (vocals), Ed Wilkerson (tenor sax, clarinet), Jason Stein (bass clarinet), Marquis Hill (trumpet), Fred Lonberg-Holm (cello), Avreeayl Ra (drums, percussion).

image